Thursday, February 27, 2014

Hawk and Dove Re-release Album + Tour

Brooklyn based band Hawk and Dove will be re-releasing their debut studio album, This Yesterday Will Never End on March 18.  They’ll be hitting the road and will make a hometown stop in NYC at Arlene’s Grocery on Saturday, March 22.  See below for details and dates.

Saturday, March 22
95 Stanton Street
New York, NY
Doors: 8PM

Tour Dates

  • Wed. Mar. 5 - Velvet Lounge, Washington, DC
  • Thu. Mar. 6 - Pinhook, Durham, NC
  • Fri. Mar. 7 - Snug Harbor, Charlotte, NC
  • Sat. Mar. 8 - Nowhere Bar, Athens, GA
  • Sun. Mar. 9 - Swayze's Venue, Marietta, GA
  • Mon. Mar. 10 - TBA, New Orleans, LA
  • Tue. Mar. 11 - TBA, Houston, TX
  • Thu. Mar. 13 - SXSW/Valhalla, Austin, TX
  • Sat. Mar. 15 - Dan's Silverleaf, Denton, TX
  • Sun. Mar. 16 - Buccaneer Lounge, Memphis, TN
  • Mon. Mar. 17 - Off Broadway, St. Louis, MO
  • Tue. Mar. 18 - Empty Bottle, Chicago, IL
  • Wed. Mar. 19 - Melody Inn, Indianapolis, IN
  • Thu. Mar. 20 - MOTR Pub,Cincinnati, OH
  • Fri. Mar. 21 - Garfield Artwoks, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Sat. Mar. 22 - Arlene's Grocery, New York, NY

Singer Elijah Miller and guitarist John Kleber met at summer camp when they were 13 years old. 12 years later, they met again in New York, where they discovered they shared a vision for the music they played. Together with AJ Sausville (drums), Joan Chew (violin and bass), Max Hodes (tenor guitar and vocals) and Caitlin Becker (keys and vocals), they have created an album deeply rooted in rock, country and psychedelia. 
Their latest studio album This Yesterday Will Never End juxtaposes haunting ballads with thunderous stoner grooves, crafting a unique rock experience. And according to The Aquarian it, "transcends the boundaries created by different genres of music. Hawk and Dove transition… effortlessly, and take the listener on a journey guided by Miller’s tender singing.”
Hawk and Dove's songs never do what you expect them to. They ramp up with enormous energy to what would normally break into some bombastic chug-a-long, then scale back with restraint to relish small moments of sonic delight. Guitar, violin and banjo drone like slow-moving glaciers. Ballads bounce with off-kilter rhythms. Keyboards tumble down the scale just when it seems they'll ascend. This disarming inventiveness is what makes their sound so beguiling. With their steadily growing following—and a killer live show—Hawk and Dove is proving to be the loudest quiet band you have ever heard.