Wednesday, April 23, 2014

If I Dropped By… with Casey Tennis of Pravada

This week, I posed my "If I Dropped By…" question to Pravada drummer Casey Tennis.  With a couple of shows coming up at The Bowery Electric on May 6 and May 13 (see below for more details and how to win a pair of tickets to see them live) and a fondness for their music…check out their album Dirty Looks, my curious mind got the best of me.  So, of course, I had to make one of my hypothetical visits.  
Quirky NY Chick (QNYC): ... and brought a friend who didn't know your music, what song of yours would you play for them and why?

Casey Tennis (CT): The Pravada song I’d play you would depend on the moment -- we hop genres a lot. As a starter, perhaps ‘Touch Too Much.’ Its a new version of an old favorite. 

TONIGHT: Revel In Dimes at Union Pool, 4/23

Have plans for tonight?  No?  Well, now you do!  Head over Union Pool and catch Revel In Dimes. See below for more details and check out the video of them performing "Last Breath" to whet your appetite.

Wednesday, April 23
484 Union Avenue
Brooklyn, NY
Doors: 9PM

Inspired by Junior Kimbrough and R.L. Burnside, they pride themselves on their unfiltered approach, leaving the grit in for good measure. “The blues don’t have to sound perfect,” drummer Washington Duke says. “It’s actually better if it doesn’t. The whole look-at-me-being-a-rock-star thing never worked for us.”  
Songs like "Last Breath" showcase Kia Warren’s soulful vocals, while Eric Simon’s bad-ass slide guitar flows around the stomping percussion of Washington “Wash” Duke. Their gritty, high-power performances come with a warning: this is unmanufactured music that shakes you up and spits you back out – heavy with contagious energy. 
“We bring it back closer to where the blues and rock really started out, but there’s a vibe you can’t put a name to,” says singer Kia Warren. “We feed off those roots, and each other, and the crowd, and having fun. So when people come to our shows, they feel that and we feel them. It’s just something that you have to see. It’s something that you have to feel.”

Tuesday, April 22, 2014

Monday, April 21, 2014

The Rebel Light - "Be My Baby"

The Rebel Light recorded and are sharing their cover of the classic song "Be My Baby".  Check it out below.

Little Brother Eli - "Who Do You"

UK band Little Brother Eli have released a sneak preview of new material they've been working on.  They've successfully teased me into wanting more. Hopefully, that will be soon.  Check out this acapella mix of "Who Do You".

Wednesday, April 2, 2014

Fanfarlo - “Cell Song” + NY Shows

Fanfarlo released a video for their song “Cell Song”.  The track is from their latest album, Let’s Go Extinct which was released in February 2014.  The video was directed and animated by Ewan Jones-Morris.  Check out the clip below.

Fanfarlo will play two shows in the NY area.  On Tuesday, April 22, they will be on the LES at Bowery Ballroom. The following night, Wednesday, April 23, they will be over in Brooklyn at Rough Trade.  See below for more details and dates.

Lilies On Mars
Tuesday, April 22
6 Delancey St
New York, NY
Doors: 8PM / Show: 9PM


Lilies On Mars
Wednesday, April 23
64 N 9th St
Brooklyn, NY
Doors: 8PM / Show: 9PM

Tour Dates

  • 4/1- Salt Lake City, UT - Urban Lounge
  • 4/2 - Denver, CO - Larimer Lounge
  • 4/5 - St. Louis, MO - Duck Room at Blueberry
  • 4/7 - Minneapolis, MN - Triple Rock Social Club
  • 4/8 - Madison, WI - High Noon Saloon
  • 4/10 - Chicago, IL - Lincoln Hall
  • 4/11 - Columbus, OH - Skully's Music Diner
  • 4/12 - Millvale, PA - Mr. Small's Theatre
  • 4/14 - Detroit, MI - Shelter
  • 4/16 - Toronto, ON - Lee's Palace
  • 4/17 - Montreal, QB - La Sala Rossa
  • 4/19 - Cambridge, MA - The Sinclair
  • 4/22 - New York, NY - Bowery Ballroom
  • 4/23 - Brooklyn, NY - Rough Trade
  • 4/25 - Philadelphia, PA - Underground Arts
  • 4/26 - Washington, DC - U Street Music Hall

Monday, March 31, 2014

Fefe Dobson - “In Better Hands”

Fefe Dobson released a video for her single “In Better Hands” last week.  The track is the second single from her upcoming album Firebird.  The clip was directed by Aaron A.  Check it out below.

Tuesday, March 25, 2014

Kitten To Release New Album In June

Kitten will release their new album, simply titled Kitten.  The album is scheduled for a June 24 release.  For a little taste of what’s to come, check out their new song “Why I Wait” below.

Monday, March 24, 2014

Jake Lewis & The Clergy To Play Pete’s Candy Store on 3/27 + Video

Jake Lewis & The Clergy will be in Brooklyn this Thursday, March 27. They’ll be taking the stage at Pete’s Candy Store at 11PM. See below for more details.  Also, they just released a video for their song “Dark Mistakes”.  Footage from the video was taken from their winter tour.  The track is from their album Gossip which was released in October 2013.

Thursday, March 27
709 Lorimer Street
Brooklyn, NY

Smoke Fairies To Release Album In May + Video

UK Duo Smoke Fairies (Jessica Davies and Katherine Blamire) will release their album Smoke Fairies on May 6 via Full Time Hobby here in the US (April 14 in Europe). This is their fourth album and the follow up to their 2012 release Blood Speaks.  Check out the video for the track “We’ve Seen Birds” and stream the track “Eclipse Them All” below.

Smoke Fairies’ new album, the eponymously titled Smoke Fairies, shows the band in top form, combining their classic approach whilst exploring new forms of musical expression – but it is an album that they nearly didn’t make. There was a moment after the release of Blood Speaks (2012) when Jessica Davies turned to musical partner Katherine Blamire and told her she was no longer sure whether Smoke Fairies should continue. The suggestion of not playing music together would potentially impact more than just their band - theirs was a friendship forged by music, by a shared ambition that had carried them from their schooldays and on to songwriting and performing together.
“We started considering what would we do if we didn’t do music,” recalls Davies, “and it was just a massive void.” Deciding that giving up on the band was “not an option,” Davies wrote a musical apology to Blamire that would become the opening track of the new album. “I just wanted to say sorry to her, " Davies explains, "sorry I scared you like that.”  

Track List

  • We've Seen Birds
  • Eclipse Them All
  • Shadow Inversions
  • Hope Is Religion
  • Waiting for Something to Begin
  • Your Own Silent Movie
  • Misty Versions
  • Drinks and Dancing
  • Koto
  • Want It Forever
  • The Very Last Time
  • Are You Crazy