Wednesday, October 30, 2013

Tango With Lions - A Long Walk

Athenian band Tango With Lions released their album A Long Walk worldwide via Inner Ear Records and Rough Trade Distribution a couple of weeks ago. Vocalist Kat Papachristou's warm, smokey vocals swirl around sexy rhythms and melodies painting a beautiful noir picture.  Check out the video of the title track at the bottom of the post.

Their musical path during the last four years could be compared to a long walk. The project of Kat  began as a changing group of musicians and has grown to be the stable lineup of the band that recorded "A Long Walk". 
With the compositions and lyrics of Kat as a starting point, the band took their time to arrange the 10 album songs with continuous pre-production and rehearsals during the last two years. The recordings began in summer 2012 and were completed in January 2013 by Thodoris Zefkilis in SCA studio. 
As in "Verba Time" so here, every song is a small story, but this time the stories are self-contained, with routes through dark dreams, night trips, sunny fantasies, memories and stories of love and separation. In Tango With Lions’ long walk bittersweet melodies and dreamy lyrics encounter rich arrangements. The result is unique: atmospheric electricity with dark outbursts, mystic trombone melodies, an old piano and a dark and solid rhythm section, always maintaining the special atmosphere that hovers around Kat’s voice. 

Track List

  • Slippery Roads
  • A Long Walk
  • News
  • Rainy Fall
  • Kite
  • People Stare
  • Obituary
  • Where Heroes Die
  • Over The Neon Lights
  • Playground