Friday, November 28, 2008

AC/DC's Black Ice

I ended up buying Black Ice, the latest from AC/DC. I had been hesitant in buying it but, based on the word of about a dozen people, I decided to give it a shot. I like AC/DC. I like them a lot. I just don't generally buy their CD's anymore.

So, I sat down to have a listen and it's a solid record. It's AC/DC. They're pretty much always solid. If there is one thing that AC/DC is, more than anything else, they're consistent. They are possibly the most consistent band in the world.

Black Ice, gives listeners what they want and expect ... blues based rock 'n' roll with bar band appeal. Yeah, so their brand of bar band is arena sized, but it's still the tried and true bar band sound that we all know and generally love from AC/DC. If you're looking for some great artistic statement, you're looking in the wrong place. This is a band who has long subscribed to the stick with what you're good at, if it ain't broke don't fix it method of doing things.

Funk? Did AC/DC just throw a little funk out at us? Yeah, they did ... vaguely. "She Likes Rock 'n' Roll" has a little funk vibe going on. Well, hells bells ... get down with your bad selves! I'd pay money to see Brian Johnson bust a move. Yeah, maybe not. Also, something about the title track, "Black Ice" reminds me of their classic song "Back In Black" only not as good.

Would I recommend Black Ice? Probably, but only to an AC/DC fan (who would likely already have the record!) or perhaps casual listeners and those on the fence. Non-fans and beginners I'd point them in the direction of earlier classics first.

Track Listing
  • Rock 'n' Roll Train
  • Skies On Fire
  • Big Jack
  • Anything Goes
  • War Machine
  • Smash 'n' Grab
  • Spoilin' For A Fight
  • Wheels
  • Decibel
  • Stormy May Day
  • She Likes Rock 'n' Roll
  • Money made
  • Rock 'n' Roll Dream
  • Rocking All The Way
  • Black Ice