Friday, December 5, 2008

Metallica Gets Magnetic

I finally got around to buying Death Magnetic, the newest album from Metallica. I'm a long time Metallica fan. I heard many people hail this as the 'return of old school 'tallica.' It's been a spell since I've heard this kind of excitement for a Metallica record. After hearing so many people speak so highly of Death Magnetic, I began to get a bit excited myself.

Unlike some fans, I didn't cry foul when they released their monstrously huge Metallica (The Black album) ... people mature and grow. I was fine with Load and I was okay with Reload while others felt the mighty Metallica of old were just images on the back of milk cartons. St. Anger was the first Metallica record I couldn't hang with. I just couldn't get into it at all. While I wouldn't have called them sellouts, has beens or whatever other term that has been tossed at Metallica since The Black album, I found myself primarily listening to the first five records.

So, with whispers of excite
ment still floating around in my head, I sat down to have a listen. Death Magnetic does indeed have more of an old school vibe. It's the closest to pre-Black album Metallica sound and feel wise. Looking at the titles, my first thought was, 'let's just skip "The Unforgiven III" and spare myself. I wasn't all that fond of "The Unforgiven" and I was even less fond of "The Unforgiven II" so, I was leery of a third titled such. But, that's not fair to myself or the record so I didn't skip it. Should they come out with an 'Unforgiven IV' I'm just going to be unfair and pass right over that one.

Other than my lack of fondness for all things 'Unforgiven,' I like Death Magnetic. The standout tracks, "The End Of The Line" (which musically gives me glimpses of "The Four Horsemen" and "Sad But True"), "Broken, Beat & Scarred" and my personal favorite, "My Apocalypse." The latter reminds me of a mix of "Whiplash" and "Battery" music wise. The other notable tracks, "The Day That Never Comes" and "All Nightmare Long." I think this album has something to satisfy all Metallica fans. Death Magnetic is an excellent blend of old school and radio friendly Metallica.

Track Listing
  • That Was Just Your Life
  • The End Of The Line
  • Broken, Beat & Scarred
  • The Day That Never Comes
  • All Nightmare Long
  • Cyanide
  • The Unforgiven III
  • The Judas Kiss
  • Suicide & Redemption
  • My Apocalypse