Tuesday, December 2, 2008

Some Velvet Morning

Sometime late last year, British indie rock trio Some Velvet Morning released their debut album Silence Will Kill You. Earlier this year, I was trolling around Amie Street as I'm prone to doing and came across this effort.

Desmond Lambert (vocals/guitar), Gavin Lambert (bass) and Rob Flanagan (drums) put together a dozen songs that rock, roll, simmer and burn. The song "Propaganda" reminds me of early U2 both musically and vocally only more pleasing. "The Madness of Crowds" for some reason, though I can't really put my finger on why exactly, reminds me of Paul McCartney with a bit of Elton John tossed in. The standout songs, "Losing My Mind," "Pretty Girl" and "Settle Down." The other standout, "Stolen Love Song" is my personal favorite. About once a month this song gets put on repeat. I'd call this song a modern day "Layla" though with less intensity.

Silence Will Kill You is a really good record. So far, I think it has slid under the radar escaping notice which is a shame. I look forward to hearing what they have in store for their next record. If it's anything like this one, I'll be in for a treat.

Track Listing
  • Let The Good Times Come My Way
  • Losing My Mind
  • One Day You'll Love The Things You Hate
  • Pretty Girl
  • Stolen Love Song
  • Stone Cold
  • Propaganda
  • Godless
  • Settle Down
  • The Nightshift
  • The Madness Of Crowds