Tuesday, April 19, 2011

Dave Stewart To Release The Blackbird Diaries In June

Dave Stewart (producer/artist/director/Eurythmics co-founder) will release his new album, The Blackbird Diaries via Weapons of Mass Entertainment/Surfdog Records/Razor & Tie, on Tuesday, June 28. The Blackbird Diaries contains all new material, duets with Stevie Nicks (whom he'll perform with as Special Guest at Webster Hall on May 4), Martina McBride, Colbie Caillat and feaures The Secret Sisters as well as a song co-written with Bob Dylan. Check out "Magic In The Blues" at the bottom of the post in our MP3 Grab.

"This was my favorite time ever in the studio, I wrote most of the songs on the spot and recorded all of them in one incredible session lasting 5 days and nights!," explains Dave Stewart. I made an unusual film of the process that not only features all the musicians and performers but also gives away some of my writing secrets which involves both a well known fortune teller and hypnotist who allowed themselves to be filmed in session with me."

Dave Stewart's The Blackbird Diaries is unlike anything he has embarked on during his illustrious 30 year music career both with Eurythmics and as a solo artist. With an American flare and rooted in rock, country, and blues, the album is in the vein of recent releases by Bob Dylan and Neil Young - masterful recordings mixed with rich and detailed lyrics. The Blackbird Diaries showcases a very different type of songwriting for Stewart with more story-driven autobiographical lyrics, which is a departure from the pop/rock sounds which have made him one of the most successful and revered songwriters/collaborators of all time. Tales of loves conquered and loves lost, Dave gets intimate, personal with words while he allows his music to rock free on an album that might just prove to be this artist's second, and perhaps finest, act.

Track List
  • So Long Ago
  • Beast Called Fame
  • Magic In The Blues
  • All Messed Up (featuring Martina McBride)
  • Stevie Baby
  • Cheaper Than Free (featuring Stevie Nicks)
  • The Gypsy Girl and Me
  • One Way Ticket To The Moon (featuring The Secret Sisters)
  • Bulletproof Vest (featuring Colbie Caillat)
  • Worth The Waiting For
  • The Well
  • Country Wine (featuring The Secret Sisters)

MP3 Grab:
"Magic In The Blues" (right click, save)