Thursday, February 27, 2014

Ten Ton Man to Release New EP in April

New York based band Ten Ton Man are scheduled to release their new EP, Chunk of Change, on April 8.  The EP is a follow-up to the 2012 release of their self-titled debut album.  Check out the track, “Chunk of Change” below.

Ten Ton Man presents this new three-track body of work that displays the same dark mood of their debut album and the signature baritone vocals of frontman Paul Livornese singing three cautionary tales of materialism, the seduction of addiction, and frustration with someone who refuses help.                      
With lyrics and music by Livornese and arrangements by the group's bassist, Paul Dugan, the EP carries a foreboding tone throughout.  The title track kicks off the EP, and talks about forgoing the quest for material things and being happy with simple pleasures.  The middle track "Fine Line" is slightly jauntier but equally gloomy about the fine line between indulging and succumbing to addiction, as Livornese sings:  That night I put my lips on you / Was the first night of this man’s deceit.  "What to Do" rounds off the EP with a seemingly happier tone in the melody but ends with an air of frustration as the chorus fades into the distance:  I don't know what to do...with you. 
On the EP, the members include the three core members:  Paul Livornese (lead vocals, guitar,whistling), Paul Dugan (upright bass and arco bass arrangements), and Paul Triff (drums, cajon, percussion) in addition to William Holshouser on accordion.  The EP was recorded at Galuminum Foil in Brooklyn, New York.