Tuesday, February 21, 2017

Anna Coogan To Release New Album

Photo credit: Amos Perrine
Anna Coogan is set to release her new album, The Lonely Cry of Space and Time, on April 28. Check out the single "Burn For You" from the album below. You can pre-order the album HERE.

The album, a virtual two-person effort which features Willie B (Brian Wilson) on drums and Moog bass, combines Coogan’s three-octave soprano vocals, electric guitar soundscapes and pointed social commentary into a fierce cohesive piece which combines the personal and the political, in a musical hybrid of rock, country, pop and classical opera into a unique whole. 

There have been many attempts at rock opera in the past, but The Lonely Cry of Space & Time is something different.  Call it operatic rock, a genre previously explored by the likes of Kate Bush, Jane Siberry, Lene Lovich, Yoko Ono and Freddie Mercury, among others. Coogan studied opera at the prestigious Mozarteum University of Salzburg in Austria, before moving to Seattle, where she worked as a fisheries biologist in Washington State and Alaska, which goes a long way to explaining her frequent use of water as a metaphor.  In fact, a drought in the Finger Lakes region of New York where she lived in part was a factor in the immediacy she brought to the new album.

Track List
  • The Lonely Cry of Space and Time
  • Collateral
  • Burn For You
  • Last Exit
  • Sylvia
  • Meteor
  • Follow Me
  • If You Were the Sun
  • Wedding Vow
  • Wishing Well
  • By Morning