Tuesday, August 11, 2009

The Black Crowes Set To Release New CD

The Black Crowes are scheduled to release a new CD Before The Frost... on September 1. The fan friendly band is also releasing an exclusive second record, ...Until The Freeze, via download code which will be included in Before The Frost... as a thank you to fans for two decades of continued support.

Both records were recorded over five nights in upstate NY. While they're both studio recordings they were recorded in front of a small audience of fans making them a part of the intimate studio experience.

Before The Frost... features eleven new and previously unreleased tracks including "I Ain't Hiding" which can be found HERE. ...Until The Freeze features eight originals and a cover of Stephen Stills "So Many Times."

If you're a vinyl fan, you can pick up the limited edition version of Before The Frost...Until The Freeze on September 1 too. I haven't seen the packaging for the vinyl but I'm sure it'll be fun. I still adore my Three Snakes singles box set and a few other unique packages I acquired over the years.

After being somewhat disappointed by Warpaint, I'm looking forward to this release based on "I Ain't Hiding." If the rest of the record sounds like this, I'll be a truly happy camper. I can't believe it's been nearly twenty years since I fell in love with Shake your Moneymaker. It seems so long ago since I had the Crowes on constant repeat ... so long ago that I used to travel around to see them play.

Speaking of seeing them play, they're on tour. The Black Crowes will be making a stop in NYC the day after their record release. They'll be at Rumsey Playfield in Central Park Wednesday, September 2.

Track Listing

Before The Frost…
  • Good Morning Captain
  • Been A Long Time (Waiting On Love)
  • Appaloosa
  • A Train Still Makes A Lonely Sound
  • I Ain't Hiding
  • Kept My Soul
  • What Is Home
  • Houston Don’t Dream About Me
  • Make Glad
  • And The Band Played On
  • Last Place That Love Lives
…Until The Freeze (Free Download Album Track Listing)
  • Aimless Peacock
  • Shady Grove
  • Garden Gate
  • Greenhorn
  • Shine Along
  • Roll Old Jeremiah
  • Lady Of Avenue A
  • So Many Times
  • Fork In The River