Tuesday, August 25, 2009

R.E.M. To Release Live Album

Every time a quirky chick tries to put R.E.M. nice and neatly away on her shelf of "I'm over that phase" stuff, they come flying down, whack her on the head and make her listen ... again! I like R.E.M.. I seem to go through the R.E.M. phase on a regular basis. And, I'm not ashamed to admit my geek girl Mike Mills love fest issues. However, that's a story for another time. I digressed.

October 27, R.E.M. will release the double live album, R.E.M. Live At The Olympia. The set contains thirty-nine songs recorded at Dublin's Olympia Theatre where they tested out new songs, over five nights, for their 2008 studio record Accelerate. The discs gives fans the chance to hear the Accelerate songs in the earlier stages of development.

For those who like a little extra, there will be a special edition two CD & DVD set containing a film of the Dublin shows. Check out the handy, dandy, yet snazzy widget below. You can see the video for "Living Well Is The Best Revenge" and check out other R.E.M. goodness.

Track Listing
Disc 1
  • Living Well Is The Best Revenge
  • Second Guessing
  • Letter Never Sent
  • Staring Down The Barrel of the Middle Distance
  • Disturbance At The Heron House
  • Mr. Richards
  • New Test Leper
  • Cuyahoga
  • Electrolite
  • Man-Sized Wreath
  • So. Central Rain
  • On The Fly / Maps And Legends
  • Sitting Still / Driver 8
  • Horse To Water
  • I’m Gonna DJ
  • Circus Envy
  • These Days
Disc 2
  • Drive
  • Feeling Gravity’s Pull
  • Until The Day Is Done
  • Accelerate
  • Auctioneer
  • Little America
  • 1,000
  • Disguised
  • Worst Joke Ever
  • Welcome To the Occupation
  • Carnival of Sorts
  • Harbor Coat
  • Wolves Lower
  • I’ve Been High
  • Kohoutek
  • West of the Fields
  • Pretty Persuasion
  • Romance
  • Gardening At Night