Monday, October 26, 2009

Gov’t Mule To Release By A Thread

The hardest working man in rock, Warren Haynes (guitar/lead vocals) along with bandmates Matt Abts (drums), Danny Louis (multi-instrumentalist) and Jorgen Carlsson (bass) collectively known as Gov't Mule, will release a new record October 27. The album, By A Thread, will be their first studio album in three years.

Haynes says ...
It feels like we’re moving forward and backward at the same time. Hardcore fans tend to not want us to move too far away from where we started, but the band never wants to stay in one place for very long.
While Jorgen brings his distinctive musical personality to the table, he also uncannily evokes some of (Allen) Woody’s spirit which inspired us to revisit our past.
I don’t know if we were willing to travel that road right after Allen died but this far down the line, it seems liberating and exciting.
By A Thread was recorded at Willie Nelson’s Pedernales Studio and is being released on Haynes' Evil Teen Records. The opening track, "Broken Down On The Brazos," features the bad ass fretwork of Billy Gibbons of ZZ Top. It's an excellent opening and one that lays a solid foundation for rest of the record. In preparation for the release, stream "Broke Down On The Brazos" HERE and "Frozen Fear" HERE. Then first thing Tuesday, grab By A Thread, crank it up and declare October 27 Mule Day!

Track Listing
  • Broke Down On The Brazos
  • Steppin Lightly
  • Railroad Boy
  • Monday Mourning Meltdown
  • Gordon James
  • Any Open Window
  • Frozen Fear
  • Forevermore
  • Inside Outside Woman Blues #3
  • Scenes From A Troubled Mind
  • World Wake Up