Tuesday, January 14, 2014

Neon Trees - “Sleeping With A Friend” + New Album

Neon Trees have released the first single, “Sleeping With A Friend”, from their upcoming album.  Pop Psychology is scheduled to be released on Tuesday, April 22 via Island Def Jam.  Check out the track below.

If you haven’t seen them live, they will be hitting road this spring headlining a North American tour.  Keep an eye out for the announcement of those dates.  The first time I’d heard of Neon Trees was back in 2009 and they were playing a small stage supporting a band I’d gone to see.  Since then, they’ve blown up into a huge multi-platinum group.  Even Mom knows “Everybody Talks”...of course, it was everywhere.

Pop Psychology was recorded throughout 2013 in Cabo San Lucas, Los Angeles, and Provo and was produced and mixed by Tim Pagnotta, who also produced the band's smash hits "Animal" and "Everybody Talks". The new album continues Neon Trees' exploration of new wave, smart pop, and dance music, resulting in their most refined album to date. Pop Psychology boasts infectious alternative synth pop ready for the radio, shower, car and dance floor. 
Tyler Glenn says of Pop Psychology, "The album is so special to me personally because it basically started from a place where I was broken and uninterested in anything to do with music. I had reached a breaking point. For me this record is a celebration, a cry for help, an admission of self doubt, and a revelation of self acceptance.  At the very least, it's a pop record, and to me the purest example of the sound of Neon Trees." 
Neon Trees will kick off 2014 by storming the airwaves with several confirmed television appearances. On Thursday, January 16th, the band will return to Late Night with Jimmy Fallon followed by a performance the next morning on TODAY. On January 22nd, they'll return to The Tonight Show with Jay Leno. This spring Neon Trees will hit the road for a massive headlining North American tour. Dates to be announced shortly.
Neon Trees is Tyler Glenn (lead vocals, keys) Chris Allen (guitars), Branden Campbell (bass), and Elaine Bradley (drums, vocals).