Tuesday, March 18, 2014

Alice BrightSky - “Up Up and Away”

Check out “Up Up and Away” from singer-songwriter Alice BrightSky.  The track is from her debut solo album Box of Me which was released independently in April 2013.

The composing and release of the album was a cathartic process for Brightsky, who completed Box of Me after a three-year hiatus from her music.  After walking away from the music business in 2009, feeling “overwhelmed by creative and logistical roadblocks to completing her solo debut”, Brightsky completed the album in 2012 with friend/producer Brandon Wilde who helped her finish “Up Up and Away”, the last track she was struggling with.
“The songwriting for this album was a way of pulling out those emotions that I would otherwise have tucked away,” says Brightsky.  “I dove into the box to deal with those things and I’m in a good place right now because of it. I’m the happiest I’ve ever been.”

Track List

  • Enter This World
  • Pry Me Away
  • Lover’s Fate
  • I Am
  • Up Up and Away
  • Troubled Upbringing
  • Girl You Hold Onto
  • Tie and Untie
  • Canopy
  • Hold Me Down
  • Dry
  • Box of Me