Sunday, May 26, 2013

Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros To Release New Album in July + New Single

When last I glimpsed Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros it was at the Newport Folk Festival where they were playing for a jam-packed crowd. The area by that stage looked like some sort of trippy tent revival.  Just the tiny bit I witnessed was a sight to be seen.  They are among those whose live energy translates well to record.  That being said, there's good news for ESMZ fans. Come July 23 here in the US and Canada they will release their third studio album via Community Music.  The self-titled work was produced by frontman Alex Ebert.

They premiered the single "Better Days" last week.  The song stole me with one utterly simple line, "We don’t have to talk, let’s dance".  You can check out the track below. 

Track Listing
  • Better Days
  • Let's Get High
  • Two
  • Please!
  • Life is Hard
  • If I Were Free
  • In The Lion
  • Country Calling
  • They Were Wrong
  • In The Summer
  • Remember To Remember
  • This Life

Edward Sharp & The Magnetic Zeros are on tour.  They'll be in New York on June 8 at Governors Ball Music Festival on Randall's Island.