Saturday, February 2, 2013

Upcoming: Junip To Release New Album in April

Sweden based  Junip will release a new self-titled album on April 23.  The band,  Elias Araya (drums), José González (guitar, vocals), and Tobias Winterkorn (organ, moog) released the first single, "Line of Fire", from their sophomore effort last weekCheck it out at the bottom of the post.

Returning to their rehearsal space in Gothenberg, Sweden (where they recorded their 2010 debut release, Fields) the trio once again engaged the assistance of producer Don Alsterberg.  It was an easy decision to self-title the second chapter in their collective story as José states, “All the ups and downs were very ‘Junip,’ so titling it with our name seemed appropriately iconic. It’s truly a band album.”

Junip expands the band’s stylistic palette with unexpected juxtapositions. “We’re somewhere between a German jazz band and an African pop band,” González cracks.

Track Listing:

  • Line of Fire
  • Suddenly
  • So Clear
  • Your Life Your Call
  • Villain
  • Walking Lightly
  • Head First
  • Baton
  • Beginnings
  • After All is Said and Done

Junip - Line Of Fire by JUNIP