Monday, April 27, 2009

Blimp: Vertical Hold

Vertical Hold, the new record by Blimp, was brought to my attention a few days ago. So, I gave it listen. This is one of those records I put in my Sunday listening category ... fairly mellow. There's a California alt-country, Gram Parsons vibe going on. This is most evident on the tracks "In Front of Me" and "Jack and Bonneville." "Tiny Tiny" dips its toe into laid back funky waters complete with bluesy slide work. "Sweetheart" is a retro folk jazz number that brings images of dancing barefoot around your screened in back porch with your sweetie, after an evening of watching fireworks and sipping on some sweet tea.

While "Tiny Tiny" initially drew my attention, it's the albums closing track, "Don't Tell Me," that has ended up catching my ear the most. Check it out for yourselves.

"Don't Tell Me"


Track Listing
  • Sweetheart
  • Tiny Tiny
  • Jack & Bonneville
  • Taco Taco (or Taco X 2)
  • The Saint
  • In Front of Me
  • Don't Tell Me