Wednesday, June 17, 2009

Elvis Costello's Secret, Profane & Sugarcane

A couple of weeks ago, Elvis Costello released a new album, Secret, Profane & Sugarcane. I admit, this album wasn't on my radar. But, it's been getting quite a buzz and is now on said radar. The record marks Costello's highest chart debut in 30 years.

Secret, Profane & Sugarcane was recorded in Nashville and produced by T Bone Burnett, who also co-wrote "Sulphur to Sugarcane" and "The Crooked Line" from the album. Also, on the record is a song Costello co-wrote with country music legend Ms. Loretta Lynn, titled "I Felt The Chill Before The Winter Came." This song marks Costello's second recorded songwriting collaboration with Lynn.

After hearing the single, "Complicated Shadows," I think perhaps, that this is an album I should check out.

Listen to "Complicated Shadows" HERE.

Track Listing
  • Down Among the Wines and Spirits
  • Complicated Shadows
  • I Felt the Chill Before the Winter Came
  • My All Time Doll
  • Hidden Shame
  • She Handed Me a Mirror
  • I Dreamed of My Old Lover
  • How Deep Is the Red
  • She Was No Good
  • Sulphur to Sugarcane
  • Red Cotton
  • The Crooked Line
  • Changing Partners