Tuesday, June 23, 2009

The Phenomenal Handclap Band's Debut Release Out Now!

A few weeks ago, I wrote about New York's The Phenomenal Handclap Band. Their debut album The Phenomenal Handclap Band was officially unleashed upon the world today. For those who go the digital route you can find it HERE. For those who what a nice shiny CD to hold in their happy little hands, you can get one from HERE.

If you haven't had a chance to check out The Phenomenal Handclap Band yet, what are you waiting for? Anyway, this is a great summertime record. Actually, it's a great anytime record but it just happens to be perfectly timed for summer groovin'. This is one of the albums you'll hear pumping from all of the good rooftop parties and backyard bbq's.

This record has an old school vibe to it. You almost feel as if you've been transported back in time while at the same time it feels and sounds fresh. It's a great mix of spaced out disco, electro, trance, psychedelia and rock.

The highlights for me, "Give It A Rest," which features lead vocals from Jon Spencer. Whenever I hear this song, I think old school Deep Purple. Y'all should know by now that I'm always coming up with some oft times questionable comparisons! And, the other highlight is "15 to 20," which features vocals from Lady Tigra. I've already declared this song my summer jam. This song beckons me to pull out my jump rope.

Overall, The Phenomenal Handclap Band is a good record. This is another one of those records that you don't have the urge to hit the skip button on any songs while listening. But, having just seen the band live, the record seems a bit confined in comparison. Of course, why compare a record to a live show? At any rate, check out the record and if they're playing near you, go see them. They're all kinds of bad ass live. Speaking of live, if you're in the New York area, The Phenomenal Handclap Band are throwing a record release party this Thursday, June 25 at Santos Party House.

Check out their video for "You'll Disappear" from the just released The Phenomenal Handclap Band.

Track Listing
  • The Journey to Serra da Estrela
  • All of the Above
  • Testimony
  • Give It a Rest
  • You'll Disappear
  • 15 to 20
  • Dim the Lights
  • I Been Born Again
  • The Martyr
  • Tears
  • Baby
  • The Circle is Broken