Sunday, May 24, 2009

Crosby, Stills & Nash To Release Demos

Legendary group Crosby, Stills & Nash are releasing an album of 12 unreleased demos simply titled, Demos. You can get your hands on it on June 2. Whether you're a long time fan, a casual fan or among the uninitiated, I think this is a collection all will enjoy. Normally, I wouldn't say that about a demo collection as most are products only die hard fans truly appreciate.

This collection features demos recorded between 1968 and 1971. Many of the tracks feature the members, David Crosby, Stephen Stills and Graham Nash going at it solo. The opening track, "Marrakesh Express," however, features all three members offering up the renowned harmonies we've come to know and love from them. This demo was recorded four months before the trio released their classic self-titled debut in 1969. Crosby and Stills can be heard on "Long Time Gone" recorded in 1968 mere weeks before Nash would join them. Neil Young makes an appearance too. You can hear him on "Music Is Love" with Crosby and Nash; the three co-wrote this song that would go on to appear on Crosby's solo debut.

Of the songs I've heard thus far from this collection, Crosby's "Almost Cut My Hair" hands down blows me away. I will even go so far as to say that I like this demo version better than the version from their #1 album Déjà Vu. This song alone is worth the price of the record. You can hear it for yourselves, HERE, as part of this three song "listening party" that also includes "Marrakesh Express” and “Love The One You’re With."

Crosby, Stills & Nash are going to be on tour all over the place in the U.S. and Europe. For those in the New York area they'll be at Jones Beach on August 8.

 Crosby, Stills & Nash - Demos

Track Listing
  • Marrakesh Express
  • Almost Cut My Hair
  • You Don't Have To Cry
  • Déjà Vu
  • Sleep Song
  • My Love Is A Gentle Thing
  • Be Yourself
  • Music Is Love
  • Singing Call
  • Long Time Gone
  • Chicago
  • Love The One You're With