Friday, May 15, 2009

Vanessa Williams Set To Release New Record, The Real Thing

Singer and actress Vanessa Williams will release her new record, The Real Thing, on June 2. This release, Williams' thirteenth, marks her debut on Concord Records and her first studio record since 2005's Everlasting Love. Williams who stars in "Ugly Betty" as the bitch you love to hate, Wilhelmina Slater, stepped back into the recording studio with a hand-picked batch of songs. The album's theme: relationships. Each song relates to the stages of modern-day love affairs as seen from a female point of view. The songs, two new works written for the CD by Babyface (“Loving You” and “Just Friends”), Bill Withers “Hello Like Before,” Stevie Wonder's “The Real Thing” and Bebel Gilberto’s “Close To You” are among the tracks that cover the many facets of Williams' musical stylings.

Williams said, "After playing a power-hungry character like Wilhelmina Slater on “Ugly Betty” on a soundstage for three seasons, it was a pleasure to step back into the recording studio and be myself behind the microphone. The familiarity and comfort of making music is always a joy to come home to." It sounds like Williams is happy to be back ... musically, that is.

To listen to the first single from The Real Thing, "Breathless," with QuickTime, click the image. Click HERE to listen with Windows Media Player.
Vanessa Williams - The Real Thing

Track Listing
  • Breathless
  • Hello Like Before
  • Loving You
  • The Real Thing
  • Lazy Afternoon
  • Just Friends
  • I Fell In
  • Close To You
  • October Sky
  • Come On Strong
  • If There Were No Song