Friday, March 26, 2010

Robert Plant And The Band Of Joy To Tour US & Release New Record

Robert Plant is hitting the road. A 12 city North American tour has been confirmed so far. The tour begins in July and will preview material from his upcoming record which is set for release late summer, early fall via Rounder. The tour and record will feature the same musicians,The Band of Joy, Patty Griffin (vocals), Darrell Scott (multi-instrumentalist/vocals), Byron House (bass/vocals), Marco Giovino (drums and percussion/vocals) and co-producer Buddy Miller (guitar/vocals).

Tour dates are below ... no NYC dates yet.

Says Plant: “It’s been a blast working on these new songs…and I’m enjoying such creativity and vitality. It’s been a remarkable change of direction for all of us and as a group we all seem to have developed a new groove.”

In recent weeks Plant has been in the studio working on the planned release, which will be his first since Raising Sand, the multi-platinum, 6-time Grammy® winning collaboration with fellow Rounder artist Alison Krauss. Krauss has most recently been recording with her longtime band Union Station, and will be touring with them this summer. The pair do not expect to announce a new album or tour in the coming year, though when asked about the collaboration, Plant says: “Oh yes, Alison and I get together quite often…and sometimes we dance.”

Robert Plant and the Band Of Joy Tour Dates:
  • 13 - Memphis, TN - The Orpheum Theater
  • 15 - Little Rock, AR - Robinson Center Music Hall
  • 16 - Tulsa, OK - Brady Theater
  • 18 - Albuquerque, NM - Sandia Casino Amphitheater
  • 20 - Phoenix, AZ - Dodge Theater
  • 21 - Tucson, AZ - Anselmo Valencia Amphitheater
  • 23 - Dallas, TX - Meyerson Symphony Hall
  • 24 - Houston, TX - Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion
  • 26 - Austin, TX - Stubbs Waller Creek Amphitheater
  • 28 - Mobile, AL - The Saenger Theatre
  • 30 - Clearwater, FL - Ruth Eckerd Hall
  • 31 - Miami, FL - Bayfront Park Amphitheater