Saturday, March 13, 2010

Upcoming Releases

Rooney will release their new record, Eureka on June 8. The record will be released on their own California Dreaming Records.

Los Angeles quartet Rooney are very proud to announce the release of their new album, EUREKA. Produced and crafted entirely by the band, EUREKA will be released June 8th on California Dreaming Records through Warner Music Group's Independent Label Group. The follow-up to Rooney's two critically acclaimed albums - ROONEY & CALLING THE WORLD - EUREKA sees the band not only showcasing their most inventive and original material to date, but also seeking innovative and self-motivated ways to develop in a new climate, playing a vital role in the future of the music industry.

Taking control of their music brings Rooney back to their roots. Formed in 1999, the band began self-producing and promoting EPs with endless shows on The Sunset Strip and along the way garnered a massive fan base in their hometown of Los Angeles and beyond. Among those fans was Geffen Records, who signed the band and released their first two albums.

Canadian band Stars will release their fifth full-length record, The Five Ghosts, on June 22. The record will be released on their own Soft Revolution Records.

'We have never written an album with this much cohesion and unity' says vocalist Amy Millan , 'It is the first time we've had the luxury of being together in a huge room writing songs off the floor. The Five Ghosts is quintessential STARS.'

The Five Ghosts is the band's follow-up to their 2007 release, In Our Bedroom After The War and also sees STARS returning to producer Tom McFall, who recorded their breakthrough, Set Yourself On Fire (2005). Recorded in Montreal, The Five Ghosts, in true STARS form, was written by all five members, Amy Millan, Evan Cranley, Torquil Campbell, Patty McGee and Chris Seligman. The album features a special guest appearance by Toronto singer-songwriter and Broken Social Scene member Andrew Whiteman.

The first single from Five Ghosts is the infectiously melodic pop tune "Fixed" featuring Millan on vocals and will be available on iTunes soon.

This summer, STARS will embark on a U.S. tour where they will play The Five Ghosts in it's entirety, along with fan chosen selections from their catalogue "Take Me To The Riot", "Ageless Beauty" and "Your Ex-Lover Is Dead" Details on dates and tickets will be announced through the band's web site,

Brooklyn band Suckers will release their full-length Wild Smile on June 8 on Frenchkiss Records.

Brooklyn four-piece SUCKERS will be releasing their debut full-length, Wild Smile, on June 8through NYC tastemaker label Frenchkiss Records (Les Savy Fav, The Dodos, Local Natives, The Antlers and more). The album was recorded, produced and mixed in NYC by Chris Zane(Passion Pit/Walkmen), except for "It Gets Your Body Movin'" (produced by Anand Wilder and Chris Moore) and "Save Your Love For Me" (Chris Moore), and was mastered by Joe Laporta(Vampire Weekend). SUCKERS will also be joining labelmates Local Natives for tour dates in May – scroll down for dates.

The first single from the album, yet to be announced, will be released in April. In the meantime, check out the SUCKERS’ cover of The Raveonettes track "Boys Who Rape (Should All Be Destroyed)" from their album In and Out of Control (out now on VICE Music).

SUCKERS took a different approach. Says multi-instrumentalist Pan, the band’s mysterious one-monikered member: “"The original version is super fuzzy, so our first instinct was NO FUZZ. We wanted to keep the poppy aspects of the original, but make as much of our own as we could... after messing around with it for a while, it turned into this weird 50's kinda dark Doo-Wop thing that reminds me of Twin Peaks for some reason (which actually ended up working well with the subject matter on a completely different level)."

Dr. Dog will release their new record, Shame, Shame on April 6. They'll make a couple of late night television appearances in support of the release. They'll be on Late Night with Jimmy Fallon on April 6, and Jimmy Kimmel Live! on April 28.

Already praised for "continuing the upward rise-and higher education-of Dr. Dog" SHAME SHAME has been hailed by Filter Magazine for its "addictive pop-rock singles" that "points back to the days of 2005's Easy Beat, when the band's highly-prized live sound was captured."

Over the last few years, Dr. Dog has gone on to catch the attention of many. From the praise in RollingStone, The New York Times, NPR, People Magazine and more, to the adoration from artists like Jack White, Beck, Jeff Tweedy, Kanye West and Lou Reed, and to selling out 1500 capacity venues in major markets worldwide, what started in the basement of a farm house in Pennsylvania with a 4 track has developed into an inventive, magnificently realized, and absolutely irresistible band who shows no sign of slowing down.

Minus The Bear will release their new record, Omni, on May 4 via Dangerbird Records. If you head on over to their website, they're offering up the first single, "My Time" for free download.

Produced by Grammy Award winning producer Joe Chiccarelli (The White Stripes, My Morning Jacket), OMNI is the follow up to the band's critically acclaimed albums MENOS EL OSO, PLANET OF ICE and HIGHLY REFINED PIRATES. These releases saw Minus the Bear winning over legions of fans and critics with a sound that is uniquely their own. With a growing fan-base (one that has generated more than 13 million plays on MySpace), Minus the Bear have continually captivated concertgoers with non-stop world wide touring and stage stealing performances at festivals such as Coachella, Bonnaroo, Soundwave and more.

Bullet For My Valentine are releasing their third record, Fever, on April 27. The single, "Your Betrayal" from the upcoming release, was the #1 most added track on alternative radio.

Fever was produced by Don Gilmore (Linkin Park, Good Charlotte) and recorded in both Wales and Los Angeles. Fever is the follow up to 2008’s Scream Aim Fire which has sold over one million copies worldwide and debuted at #4 on The Billboard album chart.

Bullet For My Valentine have just wrapped up shooting 2 videos in support of their upcoming album and have revamped and launched a new website, which is a one stop shop for anything Bullet! Stay tuned and check back to the site for updates and announcements!

Bullet For My Valentine are vocalist/guitarist Matt Tuck, guitarist Michael Paget, bassistJason James and drummer Michael Thomas.

Surprise Me Mr. Davis will release their seven song EP, That Man Eats Morning For Breakfast, On April 13. A limited edition CD of the record will be sold exclusively through the band's website and at their shows.

THAT MAN EATS MORNING FOR BREAKFAST, also known to fans as the "demo sessions," took a circuitous route from seed to market. Nathan Moore explains: "I was on my way with Marc Friedman to Montreal where we were going to record in Brad and Andrew Barr's new studio. Unfortunately, I got turned away at the border. We soon found ourselves back in Burlington, Vermont drinking in a bar. Brett Hughes, a local musician there, was like 'just come into my barn studio and do it.' So Brad and Andrew came down this way and we ended up recording there all week at Brett's house. We got all these tracks done and then we went back into another studio and tried to work them up even bigger, but we started to feel that we were exceeding our initial ideas by trying to make them too big. In the end we reverted back to the original demos. They had the raw spirit and energy we were trying to capture. So now it is finally seeing the light of day."